Melges 20 World League in Zadar: winners and results

The third event of the 2017 Melges 20 World League, European Division came to a close today with a full and complete, top-to-bottom Russian podium. The last day of racing commenced under very shifty conditions. After a wholehearted attempt by the Race Committee to set the course and give a start for Race Seven, the shifting breeze simply refused to cooperate.

With no additional races completed, the results from Day Two stand as final with Alexander Ezhkov's Pirogovo crowned Zadar Champion with crew members Daniil Odintsov and Alexander Ekimov.

In second place overall is Vladimir Prosikhin's Nika, securing a fixed presence on the podium of the Melges 20 World League, European Division Ranking thanks to his success in Porto Venere and Scarlino. Igor Rytov's Russian Bogatyrs rounded out the top three podium positions, further reaffirming his lead of the 2017 Melges 20 World League Ranking.

In the Corinthian Division, the very Russian Marina Kaverzina at the helm of Marussia has captured her second event title of the season in Zadar as top all-amatuer Champion. Wilma Homann's Fantastichina came second, followed by Japan's Koji Matsumoto on Tempus in third.

Next Melges 20 World League event will be in the North America, Sail Newport Regatta on July 7-9 in Newport, RI. After that, on July 12-15, the Act 4 of the Melges 20 World League European Division (European Championship) will be held in Sibenik, Croatia.

The results you can see here.

The Melges 20 World League European Division is supported by Helly Hansen, Garmin Marine, Toremar, Lavazza and Barracuda Communication.